May 2010 NEWSLETTER

NEXT MEETING

Sunday, 13 June 2010
Morris Gallery, 1011 Hillcrest Road
Board meeting 1 p.m.
General meeting 2 p.m

This will be the meeting at which we elect new officers, so please plan to come!

AWARDS IN THE SPRING EXHIBITION AT ESAC

- Ann Chatel Memorial Best of Show Award: Allan Butt, City Reflections, Watercolor on Paper
- <u>Best Aqua Media Award:</u> **Marie Nickerson**, Tree Tops in Autumn, Water Media
- Best Graphic Arts Award: Benjamin J.
 Shamback, Horse Head, Etching
- Bea Tucker Memorial Award: Lynda Smith Touart, Clip Art, Ink on Paper
- Southern Art and Framing Award: Martha Ann Rowan, Mobile Delta Revisited, Acrylic on Paper
- Alabama Art Supply Award: Bill McCracken, Shelby, Charcoal on Illustration Board
- <u>Honorable Mention Award:</u> Frances Ashcraft, Tuckered Out, Watercolor
- Honorable Mention Award: Judy Aronson, Elephant Walk: Chiang Mai, Watercolor
- Members' Choice: Derald Eastman, Little Red Boat, Mixed Water Media

ARARAR

WGAS EXHIBITIONS:

ESAC Spring Juried Show

- Reception: 7 May AND 4 June, 6-8 p.m., during Artwalk(s)
- Pick up 29 June, 10-2

USA Library (details TBA)

[Entry forms will be available at take-in.]

November 1st (Monday) through
December 20th (Monday)

Mobile Arts Council (details TBA)

January 2011

ARARAR

FROM THE TREASURER

Dues (\$20) for the ensuing year are owed on June 1st. You <u>must</u> be current to enter any exhibitions. Send your checks **to the Treasurer**:

Denise Inge

The Watercolor & Graphic Arts Society P. O. Box 81701 Mobile, AL 36689

ARARAR

MEMBER NEWS

- **Tom Shields** is currently undergoing radiation and chemotherapy, according to Joyce
- Featured in area galleries: Les Thompson at Daugherty's Gallery, and Susan Downing-White at Gallery 54
- Works by **Satomi Kamei** were 1/3 of the *Yamato Magnolias* at the Mobile Arts Council in March
- Karen McGahgin, Phyllis Henson, and Mary Rodning exhibited at the Wine Loft in April
- Ainsley McNeely received an Award of Merit in the Alabama Flora & Fauna Art Show
- WGAS members elected to office in the MAA:
 - o President, Ernest Kirkland
 - o 2nd VP, **Karen McGhagin**
 - o Secretary, Denise Inge
 - o Treasurer, Corky Goldman
- Lynda Smith Touart, Yuko Jordan, and Teri Odell are exhibiting at the USA Main Library Gallery through 30 June. Reception is 20 May, from 5-7 p.m.

[Please send all your news to Ltouart@touart.com so that it can be included in the next newsletter! DON'T BE SHY! And don't forget to send new email and snail mail addresses, and phone numbers.]